Along the Grapevine

Beet and Currant Salad

9 Comments

DSC03583.JPGWhen I read today’s Fiesta Friday post, one recipe featured from last week particularly caught my eye and I decided to make it right away. Unwilling to go shopping I had to make do with either what I had in my own kitchen or garden, and by the time I finished I had used in my version, still recognizable as Monika’s,  a few ‘new’ ingredients I thought worth sharing.

The recipe I refer to is one for Pomegranate Beet Salsa by Monika at Everyday Healthy Recipes.  It is the perfect dish for these hot dry days- simple to prepare, keeps well, and as good on its own as it is a side dish. Thank you Monika!

The so-called new ingredients in my recipe are red currants (ribes rubrum) and Queen Anne’s lace (daucus carota) leaves. The currants I have used before to make salad dressing and mayonnaise, but I had never thought of putting them whole into a salad. They are found in much of North Eastern US and Eastern Canada. Once established they thrive in sunny spots, and apparently are drought resistant given that they are still thriving in our back yard desert. One source I read describes them as a brilliant red skin encasing a pulpy flesh that contains 3-12 tiny edible seeds with flavours of raspberry, cranberry, gooseberry, rhubarb and a hint of rose. That sounds about right to me. Many sources say they are delicious as long as you add lots of sugar, which explains why they are most often used to make jelly. However, used sparingly in a savoury dish such as this one, no sugar is needed.DSC03586.JPG

As for the Queen Anne’s lace, there is so much of it blooming right now, but I had not given any thought to anything other than the flowers. I know that all parts of the plant are edible and often see reference to the leaves as being good in salads, but have never seen a salad recipe that calls for them. For identification and further information on this plant, please check here.dsc03429.jpg

Again, the herbs I used are all from my garden, but this salad is versatile, and you can make your own mix of greens to add. As for the oil, I used my black walnut infused oil, and I think any nut oil would be good, or just a good quality oil as Monika suggests, such as grape seed oil.

Beet and Red Currant Salad

3 Tbsp finely chopped red onion
3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
2 cups chopped beets, previously boiled, cooled and peeled
2 Tbsp chopped Queen Anne’s lace leaves
1 heaping Tbsp each of fresh mint and dill
2 Tbsp oil
salt and pepper to taste
3/4 cup red currants
Put the onion and vinegar in a bowl and allow to sit while preparing the other ingredients. Add everything except the currants and mix well. Gently fold in the currants. Refrigerate for at least an hour before serving for best flavour.

DSC03580.JPGLinked to: Fiesta Friday #233

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

9 thoughts on “Beet and Currant Salad

  1. Ooh, the red currants look so beautiful!
    I love the look and sound of this salad. Bet it tasted fantastic as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad you liked my simple salad recipe and I love the fact you made it your own and used seasonal ingredients. Redcurrants sound delicious with beetroot!

    Like

  3. I’ve been thinking of growing my own currants. Not a single place around here sells them. They’re beautiful! And for Queen Anne’s lace leaves, do you think carrot leaves or parsley can be used as substitutes?

    Btw, Hilda, I’ve scheduled you to cohost FF#235 Aug 3, with Mara @ Put On Your Cakepants. I hope that’s ok.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For sure parsley or carrot greens would be fine. It is really a very flexible recipe designed to go with anything seasonal. I love my currants but have not found too many uses for them except for the standard jelly/chutney solutions, so was pleased to find how good they can be in salad. I have made note of my FF date!

    Like

  5. I love the real red purple colour in this glorious tasty salad! Love it! I will make it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks so much for letting me know. The currant season is long over, but nice to remember it till next year.

    Like

Leave a comment