Along the Grapevine

Wild Flower Cordial

9 Comments

DSC03429Queen Anne’s Lace (daucus carota), also known as wild carrot, bird’s nest and bishop’s lace is a white flowering plant in the familily Apiaceae. Its feathery leaves are similar to those of hemlock, fool’s parsley and water hemlock, all poisonous cousins, so it is important to identify this plant correctly. At this time of year when they are in full bloom it is easy to spot with its flat-topped white umbel, sometimes with a solitary purple flower in the centre.

Leaves, roots and flowers have all been used in cooking, sometimes as a sweetener as the plant is high in sugar. As this is my first time with this plant, I decided to use just the flowers, and to make something simple and versatile, so a floral cordial it was.

Somehow I got sidetracked by the pink milkweed blossoms from which for the first time I noticed a strong fragrant scent. And while I was at it, I added lavender to my collection. This recipe could be made solely with the Queen Anne’s Lace, but by using a mixture of flowers, I hope to convey the message that any edible, seasonal flower can be used the same way, either alone or mixed with others.

dsc03425.jpg

I counted out 3 dozen flower heads including only 1 sprig of lavender. I heated 4 cups of water, turned off the heat and set the flowers in the water until the water cooled. I then strained the liquid and added to that 1 1/2 cups organic white sugar and the juice of one lemon. I brought it back to a full boil and simmered for a couple of minutes.

The milkweed gave it a rich pink colour. I presume that all the blossoms contributed to its delicious flavour.DSC03432

The photo above shows its colour in full strength, but I recommend diluting it with 2 – 3 parts water or soda water with one part cordial. Or if you are wanting something a little fancier,  dilute it 1:1 with vodka for a pretty summery cocktail.

Wild Flower Cordial on Punk Domestics

dsc03443-e1501854487122.jpg Linked to: Fiesta Friday #183; Caramel Tinted Life and Sarah’s Little Kitchen.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

9 thoughts on “Wild Flower Cordial

  1. Huh. I make elderflower cordial every year but never thought to try other flowers. Now I know! Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow that’s impressive. Looks so good 😀 Happy Fiesta!

    Like

  3. Wax, Hilda! You nailed it perfectly too! That must be utterly delicious & apart to drink with friends!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The cordial sounds delicious and the color is amazing!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Beet and Currant Salad | Along the Grapevine

  6. Pingback: More on Queen Anne’s Lace and Kombucha | Along the Grapevine

Leave a comment