Along the Grapevine

Seabuckthorn Gelato

12 Comments

DSC02679

To begin with, I don’t want anyone to think that this plant is in any way related to our local buckthorn. It is an entirely different plant, but the name is fitting because it does have nasty thorns on it. I presume the sea part might have something to do with the appearance of the silvery green leaves which in windy weather make a mass of them look like waves on the sea. I have no idea if that is fact or my own fiction, but it makes sense to me.

Usually found in China, Russia and adjacent countries, this berry is appearing more and more frequently in these parts. I have seen several posts and articles about people cultivating it here in North America. Small wonder considering how hardy it is, how easy it is to grow and how nutritious these little berries are. For more on the benefits of it you might read this. I believed it to be a remarkable source of everything ever since I read somewhere that Ghengis Khan had a constant supply of it for his soldiers so that they could take over the world. How’s that for an endorsement!

Having made some delicious jelly with my first pickings in my last post, I decided to try something new. I had never made gelato before and after reading some articles on making gelato I was intrigued and encouraged by the fact that only milk, starch, sweetener and flavour are required. So sea buckthorn gelato was my choice for this week’s Fiesta Friday.

The recipe requires only three ingredients, one being my recent jelly concoction. Other than that, just milk and some cornstarch. Obviously you could do this with other sweetened preserves too, so even if you haven’t come across these berries yet, you can still use this recipe for a not-too-rich but thoroughly delicious frozen dessert. If you use non-dairy milk, this would be a vegan dessert. Unfortunately I failed to think of that until after I had started – but next time.

I used four cups of milk, 1 cup of jelly and 4 Tbsp cornstarch. I used one cup of milk to dissolve the cornstarch. The remaining three cups were heated with the jelly, and then the cornstarch mixture added. Bring to a boil on medium heat continuing to stir. Once it comes to a boil turn down the heat further and allow to boil while you stir for another two minutes. Cool it, then chill it well and freeze in an ice cream maker. In the absence of one, just stir the mixture around every half hour until three or four times.

DSC02711

Put it in a freezer container and freeze for a few hours more.

DSC02715

Compared to ice cream, this was much easier to make. It is also a lot less rich, and the reduced fat actually lets the taste of fruit come through better. I won’t be giving up my ice-cream endeavours completely, but it will not be the last time I make gelato either.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

12 thoughts on “Seabuckthorn Gelato

  1. That sounds and looks like my personal heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I like your idea of making gelato with your jelly. I like my ice cream too but now and then it’s good to have something that is not so rich. Happy Fiesta Friday🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yummy this is perfect!!! I wish I would have some right now I bet it is amazing! You have me dreaming of my first sea buckthorn experience and it was wonderful🙂 Happy FF, enjoy the foraging over your weekend🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Wow, absolutely wonderful, and the fact that it contains much less fat than regular ice cream, has me reaching out for more. Beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh wow this looks great Hilda….

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The last time I was in Timmins I bought Seabuckthorn face cream! It was so rich and is apparently used to treat burn victims too. I had never heard of it before but once again, Hilda, I thank you for educating me,

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks Johanne. I have been thinking of using some to make cosmetics. Maybe I’ll get around to it one day.

    Like

  8. This sounds like such a great treat as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This Sounds fantastic Hilda! Gelato out of jelly seems like a great use of jelly just besides it being used as a spread!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I recently had seabuckthorn jam at a gourmet store and absolutely loved it! How wonderful that you can forage them and make the most delicious things out of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. This looks creamy and delicious, I have never had seabuckthorn, but anything creamy, cold and sweet is right up my alley🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Pingback: Honeysuckle Ice Cream | Along the Grapevine

Leave a Reply

