Along the Grapevine

Honeysuckle Sorbet

3 Comments

DSC03091

I recently came across a recipe for elderflower sorbet made by David Lebovitz, and not having any of that particular flower available at the moment I decided to use honeysuckle instead.  This recipe is worth trying with just about any edible wild flower I expect, especially if they have a strong enough flavoured flower to withstand the strong lemon flavour. The honeysuckle does have a good honey taste, and could be detected, but I would have liked it a little stronger. Maybe next time, double the amount of flowers or reduce the amount of lemon.

I picked mostly young buds, not fully opened and soaked them in the hot syrup overnight as recommended. I followed Lebovitz’s recipe exactly except I used 1 full cup of flowers instead of his 1/3 to 1/2 and I strained the lemon juice to get rid of any pulp.DSC03524

The sorbet tasted distinctly of lemon with a light honeysuckle after taste. It was not as sweet as I expected, although I could hardly be surprised given the generous amount of lemon.

DSC03532

I’m not sure why I have never made sorbet before. If this summer continues to be as hot as it has been, I’m sure I will be making a lot more, and this recipe will form the base of them all.

Related posts:  Honeysuckle Ice Cream; Honeysuckle Syrup

Linked to: Fiesta Friday #226, Jhuls at The Not So Creative Cook.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

3 thoughts on “Honeysuckle Sorbet

  1. Super sorbet insights you offer here, Hilda, many thanks indeed 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds like it needs a little reduction in the lemon content, but otherwise it sounds divine!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Indeed. I wonder how David L’s was.

    Like

Leave a comment