Along the Grapevine

A Dessert of Wine and Roses

10 Comments

DSC02233

This is a dessert I have been thinking about for some time, but had to wait for wild strawberries to be in season. It has taken me a couple of weeks to collect the berries, about half a cup which I picked every time I was out weeding, and popped them in the freezer until I had enough.

DSC02226

This is a super light dessert – a perfect finale to a rich dinner. It contains wine, fruit and sugar. All sorts of variations could be tried, and strawberries are not essential – any other fruit would do. It consists of three simple parts: a mixture of unsweetened apple sauce and wine; a jelly made of rose scented geranium syrup with strawberries; some kind of garnish.

For the base I used apple sauce made from last year’s feral apples and a dry red wine. I mixed 1 part of wine with 2 parts apple sauce.

DSC02228

The jelly was made from a simple syrup made from a ratio of 2:1 sugar and water mixture boiled with the addition of the rose geranium. Rosewater to taste is a possible alternative. I added the strawberries to the jelly and when set, cut it in small cubes. This is the sweet part of the dessert. Spoon applesauce/wine mixture into individual bowls alternately with cubes of jelly.

As a garnish, I made a granita from watermelon and more rose syrup. This was done by blending some fresh, ripe watermelon with syrup according to how sweet you want it. I processed it in an ice cream maker, but it can also be done just by scraping with a fork several times during the freezing process.

I am bringing this to Fiesta Friday #73, and hope that some of the guests will be inspired by this simple, delicious and romantic dessert.

DSC02237

Related posts:

Olive oil ice cream with balsamic wild strawberries

Wild greens and strawberries with chocolate balsamic dressing

Wild apple and rose geranium jelly

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

10 thoughts on “A Dessert of Wine and Roses

  1. Lucky you – our wild strawberries get hunted down relentlessly and are immediately consumed by my daughter. Great idea popping them into the freezer until you have the necessary amount – I’ll do that with my currants!

    Like

  2. I make my own applesauce every year and I am always happy to find new ways to use it in recipes. I mean a dessert of wine and roses? Of course we all will love this “light dessert”. Thanks for sharing with Angie and the gang at Fiesta Friday๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks lovely – with such a romantic title๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  4. This looks delish, Hilda. Happy FF.๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love all the layers and flavours! Looks delicious and very interesting too! I must try apple sauce and wine. Happy FF! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’ve never had wild strawberries! I feel like I’m missing out! This dessert sounds so interesting and delicious too๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  7. Your dessert sounds so lovely and refreshing. I never managed to freeze any of the wild strawberries, I always eat them straight away but this is a great recipe.๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

  8. Wow this is one awesome dessert Hilda, I don’t think I’ll ever stop being amazed by how your foraging and creative skills!
    I’ve still never tried wild strawberries, I hear such wonderful things about them!

    Thanks for sharing this with us at Fiesta Friday this week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

