Along the Grapevine

Petits Fours aux Fleurs

21 Comments

DSC02064

The spring flowers are in full bloom around here – and as spectacular as I have ever seen them. The other day when I was wandering in the woods foraging for fiddleheads I was able to get some pictures of our provincial emblem – the trillium. Even here in Ontario they are a rare sight. Found mostly in wooded areas, or what’s left of them, they flower only briefly, but if you do find them you are likely to see them in masses. They are truly impressive.

DSC02065

And sometimes they are red, and sometimes a cross between red and white.

DSC02060

I bought one trillium last year for my garden. It survived but has not bloomed yet. It’s a start.

But I do have at the moment a great selection of wild flowers some of which I wanted to feature on this blog and share with the guests at Fiesta Friday #68.

Some of the edible flowers I have are: fruit blossoms, lilacs, wild strawberries, violets, forsythia, forget-me-nots, rose scented geraniums.

DSC00689

Flowers are not a major source of food – they are often bitter and unless they are served very fresh they do not serve the purpose for which they are intended, which is to prettify the dish. They are finicky to preserve in candied form, and some lose their colour when cooked (e.g. wild violets).

I did find that drying them in the oven with just the oven light on, or in a dehydrator at the very lowest setting for about four hours does concentrate the colour and they can then be ground into a powder and used as a colouring as well as adding a distinctive flavour. They can also be mixed with sugar and saved for several months.

I used only three colours to decorate these petits fours: forsythia for yellow, violets for purple and a mixture of lemon balm and violet leaves for green. The flavours were floral enough to add a taste of spring, but for the violets I mixed in a little lavender sugar to give them a boost. As the season progresses, I will collect other edible flowers to use in a similar way, avoiding the necessity of commercial food colourings.

I made the cake with a gluten-free batter of ground almonds and cornflour, but a sponge cake recipe is also ideal. I baked it very thin in a cookie sheet, divided it into three, and spread the top of two pieces with rose geranium apple jelly. Any smooth seedless fruit preserve can be used.

DSC02076

I stacked them and iced the top layer with a white icing made of coconut oil, icing sugar and cream to make it as white as possible. I then cut them into squares and covered them with a royal icing which I divided in four and added the colours to three of them. A little edible fresh wild flower and/or leaves as a garnish and voila!

DSC02086

Next time I would bake it a bit thicker and just make it two layers, as the three layers makes it more difficult to slice neatly. I loved using the flowers, and was pleased to have these dainty cakes to serve guests.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

21 thoughts on “Petits Fours aux Fleurs

  1. Beautiful photographs! I love the violets. I agree–our lilacs here are the most lush I have ever seen them. Not sure why, but I’ll take it. 🙂

    Like

  2. So beautiful, Hilda! I love the idea of using fresh flowers in cooking and baking! 😀

    Like

  3. Very beautiful Hilda! I’m a big fan of garnishing with edible flowers so thank you for all the information 😊

    Like

  4. How lovely are these? I am very bad when it comes to gardening so it is very inspiring when I read posts about it. These are so beautiful, Hilda. It’s nice to see you here at the party. 🙂

    Like

  5. These are gorgeous and just the thing to see on a Sunday morning! I “shocked” my nieces and nephews when I put some pansy petals in our salad (which made them much more eager to eat it!) but that’s about as adventurous as I’ve been on this front. I had no idea forsythia is edible, which is nearing “invasive weed” status in my neighborhood. I’ll have to come up with a plan to feature it in a recipe over for our barbecue on the long U.S. Memorial Day weekend. Thanks for the enlightenment, as always!

    Like

  6. There is a restaurant in Japan specializes in serving varieties of flowers on their menu. Beautiful!

    Like

  7. Dainty and gorgeous Hilda! Just lovely.

    Like

  8. How creative, and pretty too!

    Like

  9. I love edible flowers! I want to grow lots of them but without too much space it is always a battle between veggies and flowers 🙂
    Your petit founds looks beautiful and I must try to make icing with coconut oil, genius! 🙂

    Like

  10. that is just so pretty, really is, i would have loved to sell them at my vintage stall on Sunday they would have gone down a treat, they look vintage cute! hehe..thank you for joining in ff, did you have fun? Justine x

    Like

  11. I love my edible flowers and using them in so many different ways. Thanks for the tip on drying the flowers to be ground into powders. Never did that before – brilliant! As I write I am going out to pick some of my prettiest and most colorful 🙂

    Like

  12. What lovely little cakes. The flowers on top really add to it. You sure seem to know your flowers well.

    Like

  13. Such eye candy! Lovely cakes.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Hilda – these are so pretty!

    Like

Leave a comment