Along the Grapevine

Lilac Ice Cream

21 Comments

In this recipe I have, to my delight, figured out how to capture the intoxicating scent of lilacs and make it accessible to the taste buds. Having experimented before with wild flowers, I know how their delicate aroma and colour are not always easy to use for edibles, and I considered lilacs another one of those barely-worth-it ingredients. The flavour of the blossoms is bitter, and cooking them leaves little flavour apart from the sweetness of the recipe.

IMG_0013.JPG

I decided to make a no-cook ice cream, realizing that the result might be bland or even bitter. Also, how to infuse the blossoms without using heat or alcohol?

Some flowers I ground finely with equal parts sugar. I also took one cup of blossoms and mixed them with milk, set them in a sunny place outdoors for three hours, which was as long as the sun lasted. I then left this milk/blossom infusion for another 12 hours in the fridge.

The rest was easy. I strained the blossoms from the milk, and feared the flavour was not as strong as I needed it. However, once I mixed the lilac sugar with the milk and an equal amount of cream, the flavour was definitely that of lilac – sweet, aromatic and superb.

“Lilac

IMG_0027

So now I have another favourite ice cream which inspired me to use lilac in other no-cook ways. One is to preserve some in raw honey, leaving the infusion for a few weeks and leaving the blossoms in to serve. I will also try and preserve as much as I can in sugar which I have no doubt will be useful in all sorts of creamy ways.

Related Links: Honeysuckle Ice Cream

Linked to: Fiesta Friday #173; Love in the Kitchen and Her Life is Love.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

21 thoughts on “Lilac Ice Cream

  1. I can’t wait to try this, Hilda! It sounds divine! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another wonderful idea, Hilda. I love unusual ice cream flavours.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wau!! We have believing, that eating lilac 5 petals blossom, it brings good luck. But add for blossoms some ice- cream this is more wonderful idea (and taste)!!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Fantastic! Another wonderful and inspiring recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Christina. I liked it so much I made some lilac syrup too. I figure you can’t have too much lilac flavour stored away for special occasions.

      Like

  5. OMG, your creativity is stunning. You deserve a Michelin star, Hilda.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Waw, another very interesting delightful tasty recipe, dear Hilda! Yummm!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. What an unusual idea, Helen.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This sounds incredible, I love the idea! The lilacs are long bloomed here but I will try it with other flowers. Thank you for the inspiration! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. This is an interesting idea, Hilda. I love ice cream and think it’s interesting to make use of flowers as edible food. Mixing the two together look fantastic! Thanks for joining Fiesta Friday this week 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Paula, and for co-hosting this week. I was late because our internet was down from Friday till today, but I’m glad I was able to participate, even though I was a bit late.

      Like

  10. Oh, too bad my lilac is done blooming. Maybe I can use lavender?! Or maybe that’s too strong?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lavender ice cream would be wonderful, but not with this recipe. I think just adding a pinch or two to any plain ice cream would suffice. But this technique would work well with any edible aromatic flower, or maybe even lemon balm which I believe you do have.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. This sounds amazing Hilda! I have to try it this spring–in my experiments with lilac last year, I barely managed to get the flavour through if at all. The creaminess of ice cream with lilac sounds heavenly, I can’t wait to give it a go! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Getting the lilac flavour to survive any preparation was a challenge, but now I am encouraged that it is possible. My experiments with lilac will continue, but that will have to wait till next year.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. ah, beautiful! I will certainly try it! I love both images btw!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

