Along the Grapevine

Dandelion Blossom Madeleines

21 Comments

Here is a seasonal and tasty take on the classic French madeleines. Just add a few petals from everybody’s favourite spring flower to a simple cake recipe and voilà!DSC03042.JPG

I have made many variations of madeleines in the past. A simple batter of butter, eggs and flour, plus whatever flavouring you like, be it vanilla, lemon, lavender or chocolate makes a perfect treat to have with your tea. As I’ve recently come across recipes using dandelion flowers in muffins and quick breads, I thought why not make something just a bit fancier.

A couple of pointers on this recipe. You will need just the petals of the flower. Snip off the base and remove as much of the green as possible. Usually I find a few specks remain, but that is not a problem. If you have a madeleine pan, all the better. If not, small muffin tins could be used. The batter should be well chilled before baking, as should be the baking tin. This will give you a better shape with the distinctive hump which gives it its form.

Dandelion Blossom Madeleines

Ingredients

1 cup fresh dandelion petals

2/3 cup sugar

1 cup flour

2 eggs

1/2 tsp vanilla

4 oz  melted butter plus butter for greasing pan

Method

Mix the petals and sugar in a food processor. If not using a food processor, chop the petals as finely as possible. Add the flour to the petals and mash with the back of a spoon to avoid any clumps forming. Beat the eggs and vanilla well and add to the dry mixture. Blend in the melted butter. Cover the batter and chill in the refrigerator for at least one hour and up to 24. Grease the baking tin liberally with butter, then place in the freezer to chill it well.

Spoon the batter evenly into the pan. Bake at 350 degrees F for about 30 minutes. When ready, the centre will be firm and bounce back when pressed. Best eaten warm, and within two days of baking. Serve plain or with a light sprinkling of confectioner’s sugar.

Makes 1 dozen.DSC03035

You may be wondering about the flavour. There is no bitter taste at all – just an aromatic floral flavour. It is comparable to the delicious scent of a spring lawn covered in dandelions – something that I experienced this afternoon as I happened to be cavorting in the garden.

Linked to Fiesta Friday #118, Life Diet Health and GFLife 24/7.

DSC03036

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

21 thoughts on “Dandelion Blossom Madeleines

  1. Ooh looks so delish!!!! Wish I could have them right now🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very nice. I must try this.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Made a lot of wishes, blowing out dandelions. There’s a song that mentions it and Ray Bradbury’s novel that’s called it, now you’ve added to the list with your recipe. How amazing that a weed has caught on to our imagination. You always think up something special for your posts, Hilda. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s interesting that this weed was brought to the New World because of its nutritional value. I think the only reason it is considered a weed is because of its exceptional hardiness. I am familiar with Ray Bradbury’s story, but should read it again. It is probably in our sci fi library, so will hunt for it.

      Like

      • I’ve heard somewhere that many plants began life as weeds and were cultivated and turned into respectable food. Dandelions are definitely hardy. I’m not often brave enough to do anything original with backyard finds, but
        I really enjoy seeing you turn the mundane into something special..

        Liked by 1 person

  4. (Sorry, Bradbury’s novel is called Dandelion Wine).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the floral flavor in this recipe. Yum! Thank you so much for bringing this treat to the fiesta, and I hope you have a fabulous weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Just lovely and unique, I’m sure it had a wonderful taste and aroma.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooo I’ve never cooked with dandelions but just yesterday I was talking about the possibility of eating them!🙂 I’m not sure I’m brave enough to though – is there anything specific to look out for? Im intrigued to taste these madeleines🙂 Thanks for sharing at Fiesta Friday, I hope you’re enjoying the party🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Laurena for commenting and for co-hosting this week. No courage needed to eat dandelions. In many countries they are a welcome addition to the diet in spring. All parts of the plant are edible but the leaves do get a little bitter after the plants flower. Still, a little added to a salad (to taste) is delicious, and I often use a slightly sweet dressing if I use a lot. Nothing to look for except pick only in clean, non-treated areas and away from roads, parking lots and railways where they can be contaminated. And when picking the flowers, watch out for bees and things – they love them.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you so much for all the information. I was actually ‘looking’ for plants to eat when I was out today!!! I actually picked ‘one’ dandelion out of the front garden today! You should have seen the look on my boys faces when I said I was going to eat it😛 It’s in the house but I’ve still not eaten it! I’ll go and have a look at it again now! …

        Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t leave it on the counter too long. The one thing about dandelions is they wilt very quickly and look not too appetizing. Still, I imagine there are plenty more where that came from.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I am drinking my tea right now and I just wish I have some of these right now. Happy FF, Hilda.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I am so intrigued by this recipe. I can’t wait to try it. I have a feeling my kids are going to love it! I am always walking around the yard telling them what flowers they can eat. Now, we’ll make them into cookies!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Thanks Christina. My little grandson loved them! And they were popular with the parents too.

    Like

  11. These look just beautiful! Love the floral addition to the classic recipe, so summery and pretty🙂

    Like

  12. A lovely special recipe for me to try out. Your special Madeleines look irresistable,….Ooh yes! Yum! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

