Along the Grapevine

Orange and Ginger Fig Pudding

15 Comments

DSC02817I made this steamed pudding for Christmas dinner. We always follow the English tradition of ending the meal with the drama of a flaming dish soaked in rum or brandy. There seems to be no question of abandoning this tradition, but truth be told, no one really likes it that much.

So I decided that by making my own version I could not only satisfy the vegetarian without having to make another dish, I could also make something that was lighter and even tastier. And while I was at it, I thought I could improve on the original just by adding some fruit from my garden.

This turned out to be pretty easy, and I have no idea why I didn’t think of this years ago. In fact, it is such a good dessert that there is no need to have it only at Christmas, although I would save the flambeing part and addition of alcohol for that occasion – otherwise it wouldn’t be so special.

Instead of using any sort of candied fruit, I dried the peel of one organic orange and chopped it along with some fresh ginger, thus giving the mass of mixed fruit a distinctively orange and ginger flavour – hence the name.
DSC02796

Orange and Ginger Fig Pudding

Ingredients

500 g of mixed dried fruit including dates, figs and apricots

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cups dried apples, chopped

1/4 cup orange juice, brandy or rum

10 Tbsp all purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 1/2 cup brown sugar

2 cups bread crumbs

dried zest of 1 orange

1 tsp freshly grated ginger

2 eggs

4 oz butter

Method

Chop the fruit and pour the juice or alcohol over it and let it sit for about an hour. Mix the softened butter with the sugar, and when thoroughly combined beat the eggs into the mixtures. Add the breadcrumbs, ginger and fruit. Measure the flour and add the baking powder, then gradually stir all the dry ingredients into the fruit mixture.

Pack it into a mould or a pudding dish. Cover it with parchment paper, making a fold in the paper to allow for expansion. Steam it for 2 1/2 hours. It will be easy to invert onto a plate just by running a knife around the edge of the bowl to loosen it.

This recipe makes approximately 1 litre of pudding, so you will likely need two pudding bowls.

DSC02827

Serve with custard or cream. For Christmas I made a simple sauce of butter, maple syrup, rum and cream.

Linked to Fiesta Friday 

 

 

 

 

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

15 thoughts on “Orange and Ginger Fig Pudding

  1. Yum! Looks and sounds delicious… great idea HIlda! Big fan of the flambé moment too!🙂 Happy new year!🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. At Greenfield Village here in Dearborn we attended an authentic English Christmas dinner. This was on the menu along with so many other heavy dishes. It was very good but I don’t think I ate much for a couple of days. Thanks for sharing with Fiesta Friday and Happy New Year🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow that looks wonderful. Thats a really lovely festive figgy pudding, Thank you for bringing to Fiesta Friday,

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Perfect holiday dessert and I love the changes you made and I also liked that you kept the old and added the new, so to speak with this makeover, rather than blindly carrying on as usual!

    Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday and have a very happy New Year! I’ll be pinning to our FF board just in case no one else has yet!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Delicicious recipe, thank you for sharing this one, I am officially inspired ;p

    Like

  6. What a picture perfect dessert, Hilda ! Love the taste and texture of the steamed puddings and the taste of figs and ginger! Yum!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your additions and changes sound so lovely Hilda! I’ve never tried a figgy pudding before, and I’ve mostly heard somewhat disparaging things about them (from what little I’ve heard of them). I’m very keen to try a steamed pudding now! It looks spectacular, all moist and full of fruit, and of course the flambe part sounds so exciting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think there are lots of delicious steamed puddings – some very light and aromatic – but for some reason they have dropped in popularity. This one is rich, but less so than most. I probably should have mentioned that it keeps very well, and just improves with age.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It sounds like there is quite a wide range of different pudding types! I really like things that improve with age… it’s always fun to keep something and slowly eat it. With all the fruit and spices, it sounds a bit like a softer and moister fruitcake.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Yumm…looks good🙂

    Like

  9. Flavorsome pudding Hilda….

    Liked by 1 person

  10. What a pudding! I have to admit we buy a Christmas pudding every year but I am yet to meet a Swede who actually likes it. Your version with orange and ginger sounds absolutely delicious and much more appealing to my Swedish tastebuds than the traditional English version!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What a lovely pudding! Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

