Along the Grapevine

A New Year’s Eve Cocktail

8 Comments

Bringing in the New Year is a perfect excuse for a new cocktail concoction – and of course it is only fitting I should make it with some of my foraged hoard. Here I offer you a delectable drink made with my honeysuckle syrup, mixed with bourbon, prosecco and a dash of bitters. So let me drink a toast to all my readers who have encouraged me over the past year, and share with them a little taste of my garden which is now fittingly covered with snow.DSC02821

I first made a syrup with 1 part honeysuckle syrup, 1 1/2 parts bourbon and a few drops of bitters. Mix this half and half with prosecco in individual glasses. It is not sweet, but has a beautiful floral bouquet.

DSC02822

And as I enjoy my drink on this the last day of 2015, I am again reminded of where we live and our beautiful surroundings by my originally decorated Christmas tree – still fresh and fragrant. Dried hydrangeas, sedums and milkweed pods give it a festive, foraged flavour.

DSC02800DSC02801DSC02802

DSC02828

May 2016 bring you health and happiness, and great foraging!

 

 

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

8 thoughts on “A New Year’s Eve Cocktail

  1. Happy New Year! Many thanks for following my blog.πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Lovely. Do you have a picture of the whole tree?

    Like

  3. Happy New Year. Great ideas as always.πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

