Along the Grapevine

Apple and Goldenrod Jelly

10 Comments

DSC02529

This is the last of my series of three goldenrod recipes. The stuff is still blooming everywhere I look, and it is tempting to keep picking, but I’ll just settle for lots of ‘tea’ to help ward off allergies for the rest of the season. There are just too many other fun things out there to experiment with, and time is running out as the days and mostly nights get markedly colder.

This jelly is very simple really – just apple jelly using goldenrod tea in place of water. Simple as it is, the flavour is distinctively herbal and delicious variation.

DSC02533

You could follow any apple jelly recipe such as this one and use the goldenrod tea as liquid. For mine, I had three pounds of tart apples picked from a local tree. I covered it with the goldenrod liquid, cooked it until the apples were good and soft. Then I strained it through a jelly bag (or several layers of cheesecloth) overnight and discarded the pulp. For four cups of liquid, I added three of sugar and one-half package of pectin. Because the apples already have pectin, I didn’t need much, but the pectin meant I could get away with using less sugar.

DSC02527

I cooked the apple, goldenrod and sugar until it came to a full boil and the sugar was dissolved, added the pectin and cooked a further minute, then bottled. I didn’t use the canning process for it because I’m not sure if there was enough sugar or acid content, so I just froze the extra. I prefer to have a less sweet jelly even if it does mean having to store it in the freezer.

DSC02574

I was hoping for a golden colour to match the flavour, but am otherwise happy with this unusual and very seasonal recipe. Here I served it on an English muffin with semi-clotted cream, but I’ll save that for another post when I have perfected the process.

Linked to Fiesta Friday #86.

Related Links: Goldenrod Tea; Goldenrod Highball

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

10 thoughts on “Apple and Goldenrod Jelly

  1. I would have had fun with these recipes as on our old property we had tons and tons of goldenrod.

    Like

  2. So, when I lived in Kansas, my aunt told me erroneously that goldenrod caused hay fever. I now know it does NOT. But I had no idea it’s edible either. Such pretty, useful plant! I wonder if I can forage for the seeds to plant in my garden.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Angie for dropping by. Goldenrod is becoming a more popular decorative plant and now I see they are selling it in some nurseries – with some interesting varieties. Of course, foraging for wild seeds is also a good idea.

      Like

  3. Thanks Sonal. Package finally dispensed.

    Like

  4. This looks amazing. I had no idea that goldenrod tea was a thing. I imagine it’s really good. I really learn so much from reading your blog.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thanks Amanda. I knew it was drinkable, but what I didn’t know was that it is actually pretty good for a tea!

    Like

  6. I love apple jelly and the goldenrod sounds like a wonderful flavour addition! Clever as always🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

