Along the Grapevine

Goldenrod Highball

4 Comments

DSC02525

As promised in my last post, I have been working on a goldenrod drink suitable for after five. The flavour of the tea really is hearty enough that I knew it could stand up to other ingredients without being lost in the mix. A whiskey based drink seemed just the thing.

Using the same infusion as I used for the goldenrod tea, 1/4 cup flower and leaf mixture to 1 cup boiling water, I experimented a bit. The interesting thing was that while the goldenrod gave a distinctive herby flavour, the flavour of the whiskey came through very nicely. My conclusion is that a strong flavoured whiskey should be used where you can appreciate its taste, in this case Jack Daniels. My other experiment involved a Canadian whiskey, Forty Creek, but the whiskey was overpowered by the flower mixture, so I added 1/2 ounce of orange liqueur to make up for the weakness of flavour. Not bad, but the first attempt was definitely better.

DSC02523

For two tall glasses I mixed 2 tbsp honey, 1 cup of goldenrod tea, 2 ounces whiskey and shook (or stirred) vigorously. I poured that into the two glasses and topped it up with soda water. A couple of ice cubes (which contained some goldenrod florets) and a new favourite drink of mine was born.

DSC02526

I have always enjoyed cocktails using foraged plants, either ones I’ve made myself or found in those rare establishments that specialize in local fare. There is something about the bitter and sweet combination along with the complementary earthy flavours of the alcohol and flora that make a very satisfying drink.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

4 thoughts on “Goldenrod Highball

  1. Wow! I mean, WOW! Beautiful pictures, Hilda!

    Like

  2. Love the photos. These drinks sound delicious. Description of the flavour combos very interesting.

    Like

  3. I will definitely put this drink in the back of my mind to when I have goldenrod on hand, Hilda. I am very intrigued by this drink. I would really love love love to try it before summer is over🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Apple and Goldenrod Jelly | Along the Grapevine

Leave a Reply

