Along the Grapevine

Elderflowers Two Ways

12 Comments

DSC02291

I have always associated elderberry (sambucus nigra) with Scandinavia and Eastern Europe. The delicate elderflower syrup was an import and a bit of a luxury to me. So when I discovered that it does grow here in Ontario, I determined to find some before the beautiful flowers disappeared.

This large shrub or tree can grow to about 6 meters high and wide. It has clusters of dainty white five-petalled flowers. The leaves are pointed and serrated, and about two inches in length. It grows in sunny, moist areas, usually near swamps, rivers or lakes. They have a pleasant but mild scent.

The leaves, stems and unripe berries are toxic. The flowers are rich in bioflavonoids, and have anti-viral and anti-bacterial properties. The one contraindication for them is that because they reduce blood sugar levels, they are not recommended for diabetics. If you are interested in reading more on the health effects, refer to this site.

DSC02298

To pick them, it is recommended to pick just one cluster of flowers from each branch so that the rest can produce berries. Lightening the load a bit will not only not harm the plant, but will remove some of the excess growth. Wild plants need a little pruning sometimes too.

Once properly identified, the clusters are easy to remove. And just a few will go a long way.

They can be dried, fermented, infused, baked or fried. To start with my first batch I decided to make a simple syrup and some fritters.

DSC02301

First I checked each flower for any insects and gave them a gentle shake. I did not wash them as they are delicate and didn’t want to wash away any of the flavour.

To make the syrup, I simply snipped off the umbrels (or individual clusters) and put them in a pot and covered them with water. I brought the water to a boil, strained the lot through a fine sieve lined with a paper towel.  Once the flowers are in boiling water, they turn yellow and develop a delicious aroma.

DSC02306

I returned the hot liquid to the pot and added sugar, about 1/2 cup for 4 cups of liquid, at which point the yellow became even deeper. Heat just enough to dissolve and pour into a clean jar. This syrup will  not have a long shelf life, but refrigerated will last about a week. A small amount like this can be consumed in no time.

To serve, I mixed about 1 part syrup with 3-4 parts soda water, A little ice and you have yourself a refreshing and nutritious drink.

DSC02296

For the fritters, I used a recipe which can be found here. The batter is a simple mixture of 4 Tbsp of plain flour, and enough sparkling water to make a thin batter. I used 10 Tbsp, slightly less than the recipe called for.

DSC02302

Dip the umbrels in the batter and deep fry them for about 1-2 minutes. When the flowers become stiff, but before they brown, they are ready. Drain them well on absorbent paper.

For the sauce, I mixed together some crabapple paste, chipotle sauce and a little olive oil. The mixture of 1 tsp each of salt and sugar along with a spicy sauce really make these little fritters special.

DSC02305

With the remaining flowers I have collected, I am thinking of fermenting some to make an elderflower ‘bubbly’, drying some for tea, and perhaps using some of my syrup to make a soda. More on that later

Elderflowers Two Ways on Punk Domestics

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

12 thoughts on “Elderflowers Two Ways

  1. Elderflower cordial is exceeding popular here in the UK – as is elderflower “champagne”. Love the creative fritters!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love the flavour of elderflowers and it is a taste that is forever connected to my childhood growing up in Sweden! I didn’t pick a lot here this year, I am still finding my foraging places but hope next year I will and I can’t wait to try your fritters!🙂

    Like

  3. I Just bottled my second batch of elderflower cordial. It’s such a summery flavor.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My Swedish friend makes the syrup. It a refreshing drink in summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Those fritters are simply gorgeous – and the cordial would make such a nice gift. I’ll have to do some elderberry scouting!

    Like

  6. I bought an elegant bottle of elderflower cordial once. It was quite nice but had to be used up within a month. Like the look of your fritters.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. You’re amazing. I just learn so much from reading your blog. I’d love to make an elderflower drink one day.

    Like

  8. This is so amazing.
    My mother used to make lemon squash like you made elder flower syrup. Summer time favorite.
    Fritters look so delicate. What is the taste of these flowers? Sweet? Savory?

    Like

  9. The fritters have only a slightly sweet flavour, but no bitterness. It goes perfectly with the salty sugar coating and the very spice sauce. It tastes quite Asian actually in this recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

