Along the Grapevine

Spuds ‘n’ Buds Salad and Crepes with Wild Berries

12 Comments

DSC02273 A few days ago I prepared cured duck eggs in two different ways – one sweet and one salty. For Fiesta Friday 75 I wanted to make something to demonstrate ways to use these easy-to-make ingredients. At this time of year, salads offer so many possibilities straight from the garden. There is no need ever to make the exact same dish twice. Just now I have masses of ditch lilies in bloom, and never having used them in a salad before but knowing that that they taste very much like green beans, I figured I’d let the recipe make itself. DSC02270 I used boiled golden Yukon potatoes, a good handful of chopped chives, garlic, fermented dandelion buds and blanched lily buds with a light vinaigrette dressing.  Fresh buds would be just as good, and offer a better presentation, since even a little cooking of the buds causes them to open a bit, but either works fine as far as taste goes. This was topped with shredded egg yolk giving it a salty cheese-like flavour. DSC02277 And of course, I couldn’t resist putting a fully opened lily on top, but there are plenty of other wild flowers I could have used to garnish it. The cured yolk is quite salty, so go easy with the seasoning. The sweet cured egg yolk, flavoured with lavender, needed a sweet fruity dish. Buckwheat crepes, made simply with buckwheat flour, 1 egg and enough milk or milk substitute to make a thin batter were the base for this recipe. Whipped cream, sweetened slightly with (forsythia) sugar and mixed with wild berries from the garden: raspberries, blackberries, red currants and gooseberries. Rolled up and garnished with sweet egg yolk made a rich and delicious brunch. DSC02283 The sweet version is not overly sweet, so you could even add sugar to the dish, either mixed in or sprinkled on top.

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

12 thoughts on “Spuds ‘n’ Buds Salad and Crepes with Wild Berries

  1. Hilda, I can just see you foraging the ditches for these flowers. You are so creative and I imagine people used to eat a lot more like this and were healthier for it. Gorgeous dish!

    Like

  2. Amazing! Your food is always so interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How wonderful Hilda! You are so creative and so knowledgeable!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m going out there right now to nibble on a daylily!

    Like

    • I met some neighbours out walking and they told me they were sampling the ditch lilies after reading this post. They were surprised at how tasty they were and that they were still alive.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lol! I did sample one. I was surprised it was so crunchy! I thought my tongue tingled after I ate it and was beginning to worry. It was just my imagination, of course, haha…

        Like

  5. Oh wow, this is wonderful, I admire your creations. …

    Like

  6. You are beyond creative, Hilda! Your ingredients alone are so unique- but putting them together in a buckwheat crepe- Wow!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wow I would love to come to yours for salad is this they sound simply amazing and so different x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

