Along the Grapevine

Cured Duck Egg Yolks Sweet or Savoury

10 Comments

I have been wanting to cure some duck eggs but had a long wait. Duck eggs are not commonly available in this area except when the ducks feel like laying. Finally it is the season, and I acquired a nice pile of them from a dear neighbour who owns some lovely Muscovy ducks. muscovy ducks

Any kind of eggs can be cured, but either goose or duck have a much bigger yolk ratio so they are better suited for this purpose. It is worth noting that this larger yolk is the reason for the bonus nutritional value of duck eggs – more micro nutrients, more protein and omega-3s. Here is a duck’s egg next to a chicken’s egg. Not difficult to tell which is which. DSC02248

Of course, duck eggs can be prepared the same as chicken eggs, and we have been enjoying them in many ways, not least in baking. Curing the yolks (the whites got used in blueberry buckwheat pancakes) makes a great cheese substitute. They also absorb any flavour they are cured in, so you can use your imagination and available ingredients to this end. I used spruce salt. You will need about 1/3 cup of coarse salt for each yolk. Just make sure there is enough to cover the bottom, sides and top of the yolks. Put half the salt in a suitably sized dish, gently place the egg yolk on the salt and cover with the rest of the salt. Place in the refrigerator for two days. DSC02249 DSC02251

Remove the yolk gently from the salt, brushing off any excess. Place the yolk on some cheesecloth, pull the cloth together at the top and tie with a string. Hang in a cool, dark place for another five days. At this point, the yolk should feel firm, but not hard, when squeezed gently. Grate it and use it as a garnish for salads, soups or pasta. I was inspired to make a sweet version by Forager Chef who in his post on curing eggs in truffle salt suggested sugar should also work. The method is the same, except you use sugar instead of salt, and again a flavour added to the curing process. I used lavender. I also followed his method and timing for curing.

DSC02252

DSC02269At the end of the curing time, the yolks were equally firm and had the same texture, so I concluded the sugar method worked as well as the common salt method. I will be posting recipes using both eggs, so stay tuned

Cured Duck Egg Yolks Sweet or Sour on Punk Domestics

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

10 thoughts on “Cured Duck Egg Yolks Sweet or Savoury

  1. Oh, boy – my husband is going to be happy to see this. He loves all things duck and all things eggs, and combining the two in a novel and interesting way makes him happy. Thanks, as always, Hilda, for the inspiration!

    Like

  2. Something new from me. Very interesting !! I have heard about cured eggs, but this is first I have read in detail. Thank you Hilda, for sharing🙂

    Like

  3. This is something new to me although I don’t know if I’m brave enough to try it

    Like

  4. Pingback: Spuds ‘n’ Buds Salad and Crepes with Wild Berries | Along the Grapevine

  5. So cool, Hilda! I’m tempted to try it!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Hey Hilda! As always I learn so much from your posts! I am sure they are wonderful!😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

