Along the Grapevine

Fish Pate with Toasted Almonds

47 Comments

DSC01618

The only local fish I have been able to acquire has been walleye, sometimes called pickerel, which is why all my fish recipes so far have been on this one particular species. It is a freshwater fish, very versatile, with a mild flavour. That is why whenever a kind fisherman offers me some of his catch, I gladly accept it and try and create a new recipe to do it justice. Since I have been making pates and potted meats lately, I decided to try a fish pate – something I could use for quick meals and for serving guests on short notice. It is also a perfect party recipe to bring to the fiftieth Fiesta FridayΒ event.Β DSC01615

Most fish pates call for smoked fish. I have yet to take up smoking, although a smoker is on my wish list. For the time being, I did add a few drops of liquid smoke, but the recipe does not require it – just an afterthought for those of us who like the flavour. I did find a recipe which resembled what I had in mind to start with, except with toasted almond slivers added which seemed a good idea in terms both of flavour and augmenting the quantity of the final product. Here is the recipe I referred to for fresh trout and almond pate. DSC01616

And here is my own recipe I used combining my own idea and the toasted almonds.

Fish Pate with Toasted Almonds

Ingredients

1 lb walleye

1/2 cup slivered almonds

3 Tbsp unsalted butter

juice of one lemon

1/2 cup sour cream

1 Tbsp each of fresh dill and parsley

salt and pepper to taste

a few drops of liquid smoke to taste (optional)

Method

Poach the fish in a little water in a 350 degree oven until the fish is cooked right through. While this is cooking, brown the almond slices in a skillet with 2 Tbsp of the butter. Set aside. Once the fish is cooked, remove from the oven, pour off any liquid (and keep for some other use), cool and remove any skin and bones. Put the fish in a food processor along with the remaining Tbsp of butter, the toasted almonds in butter and all the other ingredients. Process until it everything is evenly blended. Pour into a serving dish and/or in jars to be frozen for later use. Serve at room temperature on crusty bread, crackers or with salad.

DSC01646

Related articles: Β https://alongthegrapevine.wordpress.com/2014/03/07/pickerel-in-grape-leaves-with-mushroom-zaatar-sauce/

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

47 thoughts on “Fish Pate with Toasted Almonds

  1. Pingback: Fiesta Friday #50 | The Novice Gardener

  2. Hilda, this dish sounds so simple and soooo delicious! I only first tasted fish pates a few years ago and was completely surprised when I discovered that I liked them! Thanks so much for sharing this with us! And if I haven’t said it already, Happy New Year to you! πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Oooo,, this looks like a meal in itself Hilda. Love the idea of fish pate with toasted almonds, I’d eat it on some nice dry toast πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. I love smoked fish! When I want to make pate I always buy fish already smoked. Thanks for a recipe to try it from scratch πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I haven’t tried a fish patΓ©, but your recipe sounds really delicious! I might have to look into that a bit more …

    Like

    • Thanks, Ginger. It was a ‘first’ for me, but I think maybe I should pursue this theme a little further. I just wish sometimes I lived in a region where there were more types of fish available. Happy Fiesta Friday!

      Like

  6. I like this creation very much. The addition of toasted slivered almonds is a perfect textural and flavorful addition, and I also like the means of preparation — in the oven with a bit of water with the fish. It kind of reminds me of the Italian tuna appetizer, basically tuna and butter whipped together, but better. I always look forward to seeing what you are making because I know it will really have a personal and interesting imprint. Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

    • Thanks, Sue. Perhaps a little white wine would be a good substitute for the water – maybe next time. Your kind words mean a lot!

      Like

      • I know walleye is pretty mild, I caught a few of them, (if they’re the same as walleyed pike) in Northern Minnesota years ago and we just coated them and fried the living daylights out of them. Did you think the pate was too mild or bland?

        Like

      • I expect it is the same, since Minnesota is one of its favourite habitats. The flavour is not strong, but the texture is firm and on the bright side, you don’t get that strong fishy taste. I think the smoke flavour, herbs and almonds really make a difference. And it is at least one fish I feel pretty safe with since I know exactly where it comes from. When living so far inland, fish shopping can be a real challenge.

        Like

  7. Wow what a great recipe. This is right up my alley. Love the almonds.

    Like

  8. love the idea of using toasted almonds there… πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. Love this Hilda. When we lived in Winnipeg, we ate a lot of pickerel; mum used to douse it in soy, garlic and ginger and roast it or cook it in a spicy tomato sauce for bhiryani so it’s nice to see pickerel being used in a pate, which I love! Thanks for sharing this with us and Happy Fiesta Friday!

    Like

    • Thanks Selma for the comment, and for another idea for future pickerel recipes. How could that not be good with those ingredients. If you don’t object, I might just make a recipe using those for a future post? It’s good to have you co-hosting this week’s FF.

      Like

  10. I’ve never had pickerel before! I should keep my eye out for it! My grandmother (and then my mother) made a tuna paste which I loved but I absolutely adore the idea of adding almonds!! Such a great idea Hilda. I might follow your recipe with Tuna and see how it turns out… πŸ˜€ (It should still work right?) I love fish pate!

    Like

    • Thanks for dropping by and commenting. As it happens, I was thinking this recipe was a nice change from the regular tuna spread that is so popular in this community (tinned tuna with mayonnaise), but I also thought my recipe could be adapted to just about any fish, so yes, I think tuna would work well. And easier because there are fewer small bones. In fact, you have given me a very good idea!

      Like

  11. I love pate, but I have never heard of Fish Pate ever. I am so intrigued by your recipe, Hilda. I love trying something new, and this recipe is on my list of recipe to try.

    Love it πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. It looks very nice, Hilda πŸ™‚ Never taught to use toasted almonds (usually I work with sesame seeds), like this version!

    Like

  13. Walleye is a great fish! We son’t have a lot of fresh fish options, but have taken a couple trips to Canada. It’s amazing! This dish looks wonderful.

    Like

  14. This looks delicious Hilda!! Love the addition of toasted almonds!

    Like

  15. This looks good…especially the golden toasted almonds! I can imagine all the desserts it can decorate!

    Like

  16. I have never heard of walleye but it looks delicious. Your pate with almonds looks great. I have been thinking about smoker for a long time, one day! πŸ™‚

    Like

    • It is also called pickerel, and is a bit like perch I think. I meant to get a smoker last year, but somehow it never happened. Maybe this year.

      Like

      • Ah I know perch πŸ™‚
        I have been thinking of building a smoker but as I don’t know how to build anything I thought I would wait for a friend to come visit but he seems to be taking his time πŸ™‚ I might have to buy one this summer or keep using my bbq! πŸ™‚

        Like

  17. I never had or made a pate before. A very new and interesting recipe for me. Must look into it more.

    Like

  18. Grew up eating my brother’s fresh caught pickerel we’d grill on the BBQ. This sounds delicious.

    Like

  19. I love walleye but have only had it when I visited Chicago. We don’t get it here. I’ve made a similar fish pate with canned tuna and almonds (and heavy cream), it was delicious.

    Like

  20. What a fabulous idea – I have never made anything like it (I’ve also only used smoked fish for pates) , but really REALLY like the sound of this dish.

    Like

  21. This looks wonderful! I’ve never done a fish pate before, but now my wheels are turning…

    Like

  22. I do like fish pate and was in fact thinking of sharing my own recipe soon. This looks really tasty!

    Like

  23. I love that you can make this ahead of time and serve it at a moment’s notice. I don’t think I’ve seen walleye (or pickerel) around here, but I do remember eating pickerel back in Ontario. What do you think I could I use instead?

    Like

Leave a Reply

