Along the Grapevine

A Forager’s Potpourri

12 Comments

DSC01600

As 2014 draws to a close, I would like to wish all my readers a very happy New Year. On this occasion I am sharing something seasonal to mark the occasion, and something a little different from the usual recipe post. The idea came from one of my favourite DIY blogs I read the other day on how to make your house smell amazing, a sort of stewed potpourri made of winter greens, fruit and spices. I decided to make my own version using mostly fragrant ingredients from my own garden. It seemed sumac, among other things, would be a good addition, as I’ve noticed whenever I dry sumac berries the house smells wonderful.

This is what I used:

a few sprigs of spruce, juniper and cedar

3 or 4 clusters of sumac berries

2 sticks of cinnamon

4 cloves

a few fresh lemon slices

Place all these ingredients in a pot, cover with water, heat and allow to simmer for a few hours.

DSC01603

The aroma is not overwhelming, even from very close, but is a subtle woodsy outdoor smell which really does make the house smell amazing. I intend to repeat this and vary the ingredients a little each time, perhaps with some surviving herbs and berries, but in the meantime, wanted to share this easy, inexpensive potpourri with you all.

DSC01605

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

12 thoughts on “A Forager’s Potpourri

  1. What a great idea – a simmering pot pouri – love it, thanks for sharing Hilda and I look forward to more blogging interaction with you in 2015🙂

    Like

  2. I love this idea Hilda, I usually have a simmering pop pourri with orange slices, lemon, cinnamon sticks, vanilla and other spices, but I do love the addition of greens from the outdoors. Great, I’ll be trying that for sure.

    Like

  3. It looks beautiful. I’ve used my crock pot for air freshener (water + baking soda + heat), but not for potpourri. Great idea. Thanks for this and all of your inspiring ideas this year. Happy new year!

    Like

  4. What a wonderful idea Hilda! I have learnt so much from you this year & I look forward to more fabulous posts from you in the new year🙂

    Like

  5. Happy New Year! Wishing you a great 2015! I love sumac, but never thought to use it fresh as a scent, thank you for sharing🙂

    Like

  6. Have a wonderful year ahead dear Hilda ☺👍

    Like

  7. Pingback: Foraged Wrappings | Along the Grapevine

Leave a Reply

