Along the Grapevine

Fermented Hummus with Sumac

13 Comments

Image

In my current fermental state, I have a number of things brewing in the kitchen. I even went shopping at my local wine shop for air locks, so now I can begin to ferment things without having to build weighty constructions to keep the contents submerged – at least once I set them up which means making appropriate holes in the lids of preserving jar.

The recipe I chose for Angie’s Fiesta Friday is the simplest of all – no need to submerge anything, yet it still produces that inimitable flavour which comes with all lacto-fermentation. It is quick, easy, and satisfying to make. I won’t bore you with how nutritious it is.

Like many of  you, I have been spending much time in the garden. With lots of rain and warm temperatures, it is a great time for planting – and transplanting. I thought I wouldn’t make it to this week’s party. But I also celebrated earlier this week my first anniversary of blogging, and wanted to mark it with many of my blogging buddies who have taught me so much about blogging and cooking. So I humbly offer my Fermented Hummus with Sumac. I had to throw in some wild edible, which goes very well with it, but if you have to you can substitute the sumac with lemon. Sumac is available in Middle Eastern specialty stores, or you can make your own when it is in season by following this recipe I posted last summer.

The whey can be made simply by straining some natural yogurt through a sieve lined with cheesecloth. The liquid which runs through is the whey – the yogurt left over will be thicker than what you started with.

Fermented Hummus with Sumac

1 cup chick peas (preferably but not necessarily sprouted)

1/4 tsp salt

1 Tbsp sumac powder

1/3 cup whey

2 cloves of garlic

If using sprouted chick peas, rinse them before further cooking. Boil them until they are fully cooked.

In a food processor mix them with the rest of the ingredients until they are pureed. Put them in a bowl, cover with a cloth and let sit out on your kitchen counter for 24-36 hours depending on the warmth of you kitchen. If you live in a hot place (over 75 degrees F or 25 C) you will need to find a cooler place.

Drizzle a little oil on top and sprinkle some extra sumac powder on top.


When they are ready, the mixture will have a lighter texture and tangier flavour than regular hummus. Cover and keep refrigerated.

I served them with dried nettle crackers. That recipe will follow in a few days, depending on how my garden grows.

 

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

13 thoughts on “Fermented Hummus with Sumac

  1. I’ve never tried sumac. What does it resemble? I love your stinging nettle recipes. Ours is barely coming up and I can’t wait to make nettle soup, and try your crackers.🙂

    Like

  2. Look yummy but tricky to make with those ingredients ie whey?

    Like

  3. yummy!!! delicious! good week end!
    Simi

    Like

  4. Interesting – your recipes have piqued my interest in fermentation and I intend to read up a little about it…thanks for sharing this with the FF crowd and Happy 1st Bloggiversary to you!

    Like

    • Thanks. I have been meaning to try fermentation (other than making beer) for years, but it took having a blog to really get me experimenting. And it is so much fun, I’m sorry I didn’t start sooner.

      Like

  5. Air locks? I probably need to invest in these. I would be interested to hear about your experience with them, and some photos too. Now, this recipe is classic birgerbird preferred type food and I love it! I love the little nettle crackers, too, I think I will try making some with my dried fig leaves. Sumac? Mmmmmmm!!!!!

    Like

  6. Congrats on your first year blogging!! This looks delicious as always! I love the idea or fermented hummus… Haden’t seen that one yet.🙂

    Like

  7. Pingback: Sumac and Rhubarb Soup | Along the Grapevine

  8. My first ever blogging reply. Hello Hilda.. we met at Zumba and had tea after class this week. Thanks for turning me onto you site. Its wonderful. New Zumba partner Heather

    Like

Leave a Reply

