Along the Grapevine

Maple Sap: Our First Sign of Spring

9 Comments

Image

We have started to collect sap from our two sugar maples. This won’t give us a lot of syrup once we process it, but at least we will have the satisfaction of home-grown maple syrup – the quintessential wild food in this area. I will post more on this once we have collected enough. The varying temperatures are slowing things down considerably, but I am in no hurry. Meanwhile I have been contemplating what else I can do with all this sap.

For example, I have often wondered why we don’t save some sap for just drinking as is, as they do in Russia and neighbouring countries with birch sap. Now I find that here in Canada, B.C. and Quebec have started a maple water industry which is being touted as a health drink, and is sold in stores right next to the coconut water. I hope this trend catches on throughout the country. If you want to read more about this, check here.

For those of you who do not have either sugar maples or a place where you can boil down the many litres of sap to make syrup, you can still take advantage of the season and put your sap to good use. Besides the two sugar maples, we tapped one Norway maple, which I always considered a bit of weed in the tree world. Apparently the sap from this tree is not as sweet, but tasting it on its own, it is very much like the sap from the sugar maples.

Unfortunately, we lost our birches last year, but if anyone has experience with birch sap, I would love to hear about it.

There are lots of uses for this ‘health drink’, such as making tea, porridge, and even beer. My first experiment with it was to make white rice. Simply substitute the sap for water. It gives the rice a slightly sweet flavour, and is really delicious – even on its own. I served it with fish in a spicy curry, and the sweetness was a perfect complement to the heat of the sauce. So if you have an undistinguished maple, all you need is a clean, food-safe bucket with a lid, a spile (you can get these at most hardware stores in Canada) and a drill, or at least someone with a drill. Just be sure to keep the sap colder than 40 degrees F to prevent bacteria from growing. Then you can make your own maple sap rice, or whatever else you fancy.

Image

 

 

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

9 thoughts on “Maple Sap: Our First Sign of Spring

  1. Maple syrup reminds me so beautiful souvenirs in Canada, thank you Hilda 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you for visiting and for the comment. Maybe one day we will start exporting maple water too. I think that would appeal to Europeans more than the syrup.

      Like

  2. Oh I would love some homemade maple syrup! There’s nothing quite like it. 🙂

    Like

  3. Wow, very Canadian! I love maple syrup but somehow I never thought that you can use sap from tree without making into syrup! Looking forward to hear about your own syrup making process.

    Like

  4. Tapping trees for sap to use in cooking has got to be one of the neatest things I’ve ever heard of! Would love to try some of that rice.

    Like

  5. I don’t particularly care for maple syrup, but love anything that makes me feel like I’m living in a Laura Ingalls Wilder book. You make it sound so easy that I’m going to scout out our yard to see if we have any maples. Up until this point, our trees have been a pain in the patoot, what with the shade and the leaves, but this just may be their saving grace if I can find a maple.

    Like

    • I’m glad I have encouraged you to take a second look at your trees. If you don’t have any maple, perhaps you can find a birch to experiment with. The flavour is different, but the sap is really good on its own. Like so many things I’ve never used before, all of a sudden I find I don’t have enough!

      Like

  6. I love the thought of you making your own maple syrup. I’ve made birch sap wine before now, but it didn’t taste of all that much. Perhaps maple sap wine would have more flavour?

    Like

  7. I’m not sure what the process involves for making wine, but think it too might be unremarkable. Maybe it would be better for beer.

    Like

Leave a Reply

