Along the Grapevine

Crab apple and sweet potato clafoutis

5 Comments

100_0592

With Canadian Thanksgiving soon upon us, here is a recipe which is sure to please those who are not so keen on pumpkin pie, or just want a change, or a dairy-free, gluten-free option. A clafoutis is a classic French dessert, something between a custard and a cake, made with fruit, often cherries.

I found this recipe first on a Spanish blog, translated it, and then came across it on another site in English. No idea where it originated, but it is a superb dessert and a great way to show off your perfect little crab apples. I was afraid the apples would not cook well enough, and be hard and bitter, but they were perfect – even better than cherries in my mind.

I prepared it in a large pan to give the apples long enough to cook well, but should have used one smaller in diameter which would have made it deeper. Still, it worked well, and was very easy. The mottled effect on mine was the result of sprinkling a mixture of sugar and almond flour before baking it. Perhaps the recipe meant to have it sprinkled on after baking.

Here is the recipe as I translated it.

Sweet Potato Crab apple Clafoutis

For a nine inch cake pan or several small ones.

1/2 cup sweet potato

1/3 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 cup coconut mle or cream

2 Tbsp Calvados (optional)

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup brown rice flour

2 Tbsp almond flour

1/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/8 tsp ginger

crab apples

Mix the sweet potato, sugar and eggs. Add coconut milk or cream, vanilla, rice flour, almond flour, salt, ginger and cinnamon and beat together. Refigerate mixture for 30 minutes in the refrigerator.

Place the apples in the baking pan and pour the mixture over. Bake at 350 F for 20-30 mintutes, depending on the size of pans you use. Sprinkle the top with a mixture of almond flour and sugar.100_0595

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

5 thoughts on “Crab apple and sweet potato clafoutis

  1. sounds delicious and healthy too!

    Like

  2. Is the sweet potato cooked first (I think it must be)? Could you substitute something else for sweet potato? This sounds a really interesting recipe, particularly as it’s gluten free.

    Like

    • Thanks for pointing that out. I should have made it clearer, but yes, the sweet potato is cooked and mashed. I would think some kind of squash would work just as well. I know some people can’t eat sweet potato, so if you try it, let me know how it turns out.

      Like

      • Squash as a substitute sounds a good idea if I don’t have sweet potato (we often buy squashes anyway). I look forward to trying it out. I didn’t know what ‘clafoutis’ was, but I think I’ve eaten it in France – very, very tasty!

        Like

      • I also meant to say – I really love the photograph. Beautifully done.

        Like

Leave a Reply

