Along the Grapevine

Crab apples

6 Comments

Image

September is a super-busy time for gardeners, in the kitchen and in the fields. Still no frost so there is some hope of salvaging the last of the harvest, collecting seeds, digging up bulbs before they all succumb to the cold weather. And then what to do with the fruits of your labour? I just added another task/load of experiments when I finally pruned our lone crab apple tree. It doesn’t usually produce as much as it did this year, so I felt I could afford to pick some of the fruit, and still leave plenty for the bohemian wax wings who visit the tree most winters.

Image

Crab apples are not frequently found in farmers’ markets, let alone supermarkets, but nonetheless there are plenty of good recipes on line which are worth making for jellies, chutneys, pickles and baking. I began by working out a couple of recipes that don’t seem to exist yet, and the possibilities with this bright little fruit seem pretty endless. Not wanting to deplete my tree any further, I am offering to prune anyone’s tree in this area and share the produce!

My tree (the same one you see in bloom on the header of this blog) gives those small, bright red, supposedly inedible variety. They look more like cranberries than apples.

Image

Having snipped all the berries off the pruned branches (that is the hardest part), I chopped them roughly in the food processor. I dried the majority of them to make a salad dressing and muffins, and still plenty to put away for winter. With the rest I prepared, or rather am preparing, a liqueur which will be perfect as a festive drink. No pictures of the finished product yet, but the concoction should be ready to decant in mid-October. I will also think of some way to use the vodka soaked fruit at that time.

Crab apple liqueur

Ingredients

Fresh crab apples

Sugar

Vodka

Method

Weigh the crab apples (I had about 1.25 lbs.) Add the same weight of sugar to the pot, cover the mixture with vodka, and stir. Stir every day for about a month, then strain into a bottle. Keep the container covered so the vodka doesn’t all evaporate or get infested with fruit/alcohol flies. I used a ceramic pot with a tight fitting lid.

Image

Mine has been going for about a week now. Having sampled the small amount stuck to the spoon after stirring, I can vouch that it is delicious – and we look forward to using it in mixed cocktails and on its own. We shall see! And if you don’t have crab apples, this could be done with many varieties of fruits and berries.

Crab Apple Vinaigrette

Image

It is difficult to give exact quantities in this, but then salad dressings should be tweaked to suit your own taste. If you usually make your own vinaigrette, you would probably find you need a little more salt and vinegar than usual, presumably because of the tartness of the fruit, but add a little at a time and taste to be sure.

1 large spoon of dried crab apples

Vinegar (cider or red wine) to cover, plus a little extra.

1 Tbsp. liquid honey

6 Tbsp. oil (olive, avocado, grape seed, sunflower)

1 tsp. salt.

Soak the fruit in vinegar for at least an hour. Add the honey and salt and mix well. Add the oil slowly, mixing as you do

This is excellent with any leafy salad.

Image

Crab Apple Walnut Muffins

I expect most readers already have their own favourite recipes for muffins – in which case I would recommend just adding the dried crab apples in place of or in addition to any fresh or dried fruit. Likewise, the dried crab apple can be used in many other recipes, such as cookies, granola bars, or even savoury rice or stuffing dishes. I added some to porridge, along with a little cinnamon.

If you don’t have a recipe handy, here is the one I used.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup brown rice flour

1/2 tsp salt

2 Tbsp ground flax seed

1/4 cup dried crab apples

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

2 eggs

3/4 cup milk (or almond milk)

1/3 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup liquid honey

Method

Combine the dry ingredients. Mix together the rest, and add to the dry ingredients, mixing just to blend.

Pour into muffin tins, and bake at 350 for about 25 minutes.

Image

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

6 thoughts on “Crab apples

  1. Hilda, this is awesome! I have 2 crabapple trees! Never thought about harvesting the fruits before. I thought they were bitter. I don’t know where I heard that from. I might try the liqueur, sounds delicious! Now, if only you can put ornamental pear fruits to good use, too, I’d be happy. I have 2 huge trees in my front yard!

    Like

    • Yes, they are bitter, but bitter can be better. Just a case of finding the right use and combination for it. Glad you liked it. I found some bigger ones today, and am trying to think of what to do with them. Many ideas, but what is most appealing?

      Like

  2. Fantastic! Have you ever tried dehydrating them for crab apple chips? I typically don’t like regular apple chips because they’re too sweet, but I’m thinking the tartness of the crab apples might make them excellent candidates for a sweet-ish/savory-ish snack. I’ll have to hunt down some crab apples and test that out!

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment. I was discussing chips with a friendly bartender the other day, and he suggested sweetening them with cane sugar before drying, but not too sure how to go about that. Might give it a try though. I found a great tree recently in Toronto and helped myself to a bundle of them, and have been invited to collect some at a friend’s house. So many go to waste! So you might find a good source if you let people know you are looking.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Apples are from Kazakhstan, and so are crabapples | alongthegrapevine

  4. Pingback: Crabapple, Rhubarb and Ginger Jam | Along the Grapevine

Leave a Reply

