Along the Grapevine

Waldorf Salad with Purslane

7 Comments

With all the ripening apples falling off the trees, I decided to use some in a waldorf salad so they could be used fresh rather than cooked. Not having any celery growing in my garden this year, and finding little in the local markets, I decided to use purslane instead. In this version, I used very little mayonnaise, and a little lime juice just to prevent the apples from going brown during preparation.

Image

These are the ingredients I used, but feel free to use whatever you fancy.

apples

purslane

walnuts

juice of 1 lime

mayonnaise

salt and pepper to taste

I mixed the lime juice with the purslane, then added the apples and stirred after each apple, adding them one at a time. I left some of the skin on the apples because they are organic, and add some nice colour. Then, I added the rest of the ingredients.

And a nasturtium flower.

Image

Author: Hilda

I am a backyard forager who likes to share recipes using the wild edibles of our area.

7 thoughts on “Waldorf Salad with Purslane

  1. Looks beautiful and tasty! This would go fast here on the dinner table!

    Like

  2. I am going to try this soon! Thanks!

    Like

  3. Thanks for the comments, and for reading my post. Hope you like the salad.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Apples Everywhere! | MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  5. Pingback: Kale Waldorf Salad (vegan) | Superfoodista

  6. Pingback: A Forager’s Red and Blue Salad | Along the Grapevine

  7. Pingback: Mint and Purslane Pesto | Along the Grapevine

Leave a Reply

